Research Database DescriptionsEbook Titles
This is the "Research Database Descriptions" page of the "1920s Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

1920s Research Guide  

Last Updated: May 31, 2017 URL: http://sherwoodhs.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=569494 Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Database Descriptions Print Page
  Search: 
 

Database & eBook Descriptions

  • 21st Century Explorer
    Access to two complete encyclopedias, interactive lessons, videos, magazine and journal articles, editor-selected Web sites, teacher resources, and thousands of images, multimedia and illustrations.
  • ABC-CLIO eBooks
    A collection of online reference books.
  • African American Studies Center
    Includes over 8,000 articles from the following sources: Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History 1619 – Present; Black Women in America, 2nd ed.; African-American National Biography.
  • American Government
    Information about the political and economic systems of the United States and analysis and research support concerning key questions in the history and function of American government.
  • American History
    From the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, this database investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.
  • Annals of American History
    More than 2,000 primary source documents plus 700 multimedia elements that guide you through the history of the United States.
  • Art Museum Image Gallery
    A rich digital resource of art images and related multimedia gathered from the collections of distinguished museums around the world.
  • Auto Repair Reference Center
    A comprehensive collection of automobile repair reference information. Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information starting as far back as 1945 for certain makes.
  • Britannica Academic Edition
    Delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research – all in one database.
  • Britannica School
    3 online encyclopedias in one. A search will return articles from all 3 encyclopedias so students can choose which level meets their needs.
  • Britannica Spanish Reference Center
    Resources in Spanish for all ages in two unique interfaces, each with its own comprehensive encyclopedia: Enciclopedia Universal en Español for high school ages and up and Enciclopedia Juvenil for ages 6-12.
  • Culturegrams
    Up to date information on every country recognized by the UN from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. 25 categories are tracked including history, land and climate, religion, personal appearance, gestures, language, government, family, dating and marriage, etc.
  • Discovery Education
    A huge collection of educational videos and other digital material, for all subjects at all levels. Teachers: See the Library Media Program Handbook to create your own account. Students: Log in using "mcps" and your student ID number. For example: Username: mcps123456 ; Password: 123456.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    A collection of online reference books.
  • Global Reference Center
    Comprehensive online content in a variety of global languages. These extensive and thorough databases are intuitive and fast, delivering trustworthy information from around the globe. Languages include Chinese, French, Japanese, Korean, and Spanish.
  • Health Reference Center
    Clear and comprehensive information on Body Systems, Diseases and Disorders, Drug Abuse and Addiction, Mental Health and Developmental Disorders, and Nutrition and Wellness. Also includes Health Centers: Teens' Health, Women's Health, Men's Health, Children's Health, and Seniors' Health.
  • History Reference Center
    An extensive full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Also includes full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 37,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80
  • Image Quest
    Contains more than two million images from over 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use—ideal for use in lessons plans, student projects, school Web sites, and beyond.
  • Infobase Publishing eBooks
    A collection of online reference books.
  • Issues & Controversies
    Articles from differing points of view. Special features include: editorial cartoons & questions, debate topics, experts & sources.
  • MAS Ultra - School Edition
    Contains articles from nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. It also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
  • MasterFILE Premier
    Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.
  • Middle Search Plus
    Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines, thousands of biographies, historical essays, primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
  • NoodleTools
    Use this to create bibliographic citations and to print out a “works cited” page. Take electronic notes as you do research. Note cards can be organized by clustering them and tagging them, and can also be printed out.
  • NoveList Plus
    NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. With its intuitive interface and extensive feature content, NoveList Plus will help you to answer the questions of what to read next.
  • One More Story
    Fifty-one picture books and growing…..reads the story to you.
  • Opposing Viewpoints In Context
    A great place to start for “controversial issue” research. It contains viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
  • Pop Culture Universe
    An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present. This resource provides a safe haven for investigating topics that appeal to students without the bias, advertising, suggestive content, or questionable authorship of commercial or fan sites.
  • Newsbank Historical Newspapers
    Hundreds of U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
  • Proquest Learning: Literature
    A comprehensive resource including 3,000+ author biographies; 40 searchable full-text literature journals; full-text literary works; and other key criticism and reference sources.
  • Proquest Research Library
    Contains more than 2000 periodicals covering a broad range of materials: business, education, general reference, health, language arts, sciences, social sciences and many other curriculum-specific subject areas.
  • Salem Press eBooks
    A collection of online reference books.
  • Science in Context
    Science topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures & illustrations. Science articles from over 200 magazines & journals.
  • Science Reference Center
    Provides access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
  • SIRS Decades
    Contains primary source and reference content from the 20th century. Content is organized into curricular topics pertaining to American History, culture, and daily life of the time. Primary source types include: Advertisements, Editorial Cartoons, Letters, Memos, Messages, Maps and Charts, Original Documents, Original Works of Art, Photographs, Poems and Literary Works, Posters, Published Articles, Speeches and Addresses.
  • SIRS Discoverer
    SIRS Discoverer includes carefully selected full-text articles and images from more than 1,600 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, government documents, and websites.
  • SIRS Knowledge Source
    A search portal that searches SIRS Researcher (a periodical database); SIRS Government Reporter (historic and government documents, directories and almanacs); SIRS Renaissance, (current perspectives on the arts and humanities); and SIRS Web Select (a student search engine with editorially selected websites.) It also links to SIRS Interactive Citizenship (interactive books on U.S. citizenship.)
  • Explora Secondary School
    Designed for middle and high school students providing coverage of current events, primary source documents, and film and video from books, encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines and government reports.
  • Student Resources In Context
    Covers all core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more. Provides a premium selection of reference material, more than 1,100 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts.
  • TeachingBooks.net
    Up close and personal interviews with some of the most loved and respected children and young adult authors. Also included are an array of lesson plans and other resources for use by language arts teachers and for students.
  • TumbleBook Library
    An online collection of TumbleBooks – animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.
  • Turnitin
    Students submit papers electronically. Student work can then be peer-reviewed, graded electronically by the teacher, and checked for originality.
  • U.S. History In Context
    Over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
  • Webster’s Dictionary
    Contains over 470,000 entries. You can also choose from several different types of searches to find word histories, see examples of how a word is used, or solve word puzzles.
  • World Data Analyst
    Provides "Country Snapshots" and allows students to create "current comparisons" of countries based on a large list of data points. It is also possible to make "chronological comparisons," which compares changes over time up to 90 years.
  • World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras
    Provides thousands of authoritative primary and secondary sources, in-depth explorations, and profiles of city-states, countries, and regions of the ancient and medieval worlds.
  • World History: Modern Era
    Develop chronological knowledge by exploring the cultures, events, personalities, movements, and religious developments that occurred around the globe and throughout history. Includes video, timelines, statistics, organizations, maps, images, essays, glossary, court cases, and lessons.
  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip