Research Database DescriptionsEbook Titles
This is the "Where Should I Look For Information?" page of the "English 10 Controversial Issues Research Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 10 Controversial Issues Research Project  

Last Updated: May 31, 2017 URL: http://sherwoodhs.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=287904 Print Guide RSS Updates

Where Should I Look For Information? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Search our online library catalog, Destiny, for books on your topic. Come to the Media Center to check the books out.

 

Research Databases

The databases listed to the right have been selected as good ones to use when beginning your research. For access to the rest of our databases, click on the "Research Databases and Ebooks" tab above. The complete list of databases can also be found in "Folder 7. Media" on your network desktop. Click on the "Research Databases" icon in that folder for the full list.

All of these databases and ebooks may be accessed outside of school with the proper user ids and passwords. Look for the "Research Databases Home Access" file on your Edline homepage, or get the paper handout from the Library Media Center.

Web Links

These are some general web sites that have resources about a variety of controversial issues.

  • Controversial Issues
    This web page from Santa Ana College in California has many links to web sites and organizations that will support your research, organized by issue.
  • Issues and Causes
    From the Yahoo! Directory. Links to websites about many controversial issues in today's society.
  • Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues
    From ProCon.org, a not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias.
  • Social Issues
    From the Multnomah County Library, Oregon. This page has links to resources to help you research various controversial social issues.
  • PolitiFact.com
    This web site, sponsored by the Tampa Bay Times, researches the statements made by politicians and those involved in politics and then rates those statements for their accuarcy.
 

Database: Issues and Controversies

Issues & Controversies has hundreds of controversial issues topics. You can use the search field below or you can go to the database home page and click on "More . . ." under "Issues: Pro & Con."

 

Database: Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Gales' Opposing Viewpoints In Context has many controversial issue topics. Use the search field below, or just click on the icon to go to their home page. Click on "Issues" on the top menu bar. Each topic has an overview article and links to many related articles.

 

Database: Student Resources In Context

A rich database of reference, newspaper, magazine and other articles on many topics.

 

Database: SIRS Knowledge Source

SIRS Knowledge Source is an excellent database for exploring controversial issues. From the database home page, see the "Your Top 10 Pro vs. Con Leading Issues " box in the top right-hand corner. Click on "More Issues..." to see their entire list of issues. Or, use the search field below.

logo

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip