- 100 Milestone Documents
A list of 100 milestone U.S. documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
- African American Registry
An online depository of Black American history, it is a calendar-based series of Black American accomplishments before the Mayflower to the present.
- Almanac of Policy Issues
Background information, archived documents, and links on major U.S. public policy issues.
- Background Notes on Countries
From the U.S. Daprtment of State. Information about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
- Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government
A service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government, which issues the publications and information products disseminated by the GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program.
- Best of History Web Sites
Published by EdTechTeacher Inc. A portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.
- BJ Pinchbeck's Homework Helper: Social Studies
A Discovery Education-sponsored directory of helpful and informative websites.
- Central Intelligence Agency
- Council on Foreign Relations
An independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries.
- Eyewitness to History
History through the eyes of those who lived it, from the Ancient World to the present.
A nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics by monitoring the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
- Flashpoints: Guide to World Conflicts
Provides the information needed to make informed judgements about the nature of specific violent political conflicts, the aspirations of the adversaries and the prospects for intervention or resolution.
- Foreign Policy
An online magazine of foreign policy, global politics, economics, and ideas.
- Foreign Policy In Focus
A project of the Institute for Policy Studies, Foreign Policy In Focus provides timely analysis of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs and recommends policy alternatives.
A source of background information and developing news stories in the fields of defense, space, intelligence, WMD, and homeland security.
- Herblock's History: Politcal Cartoons from the Crash to the Millenium
Published by the Library of Congress. A collection of famous political cartoons by the Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist.
- International Committee of the Red Cross
An independent organization whose mission is to protect the lives and dignity of victims of war and internal violence and to provide them with assistance.
- International Monetary Fund
An organization of 187 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
- International Relations and Security Network
An open access information services for international relations and security professionals whose mission is to facilitate security-related dialogue and cooperation within a high-quality network of international relations organizations, professionals and experts, and to provide open-source international relations and security-related tools and materials in accessible ways.
The world’s largest international police organization, with 190 member countries, whose role is to enable police around the world to work together to make the world a safer place.
- League of Women Voters
A nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy.
- Maryland HSA Government Assessment
- Maryland State Government
- MCPS Social Studies Curriculum
- Montgomery County Government
Allows users to generate graphs based on numerical data extracted from the CIA Factbook.
- North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
NATO's fundamental purpose is to safeguard the freedom and security of its 28 member countries from Europe and North America through political and military means.
- OYEZ - US Supreme Court Multimedia
A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work.
A project of the Tampa Bay Times. Statements by members of Congress, state legislators, governors, mayors, the president, cabinet secretaries, lobbyists, people who testify before Congress and anyone else who speaks up in American politics are researched then rated for accuracy on their Truth-O-Meter – True, Mostly True, Half True, Mostly False and False.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An outstanding online encyclopedia published by the Center for the Study of Language and Information, Stanford University.
A free educational resource for people that provides a central location where states can be compared on just about anything.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published since 1878, this is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
- United Nations
- United Nations Cyberschoolbus
A K-12 resource published by the United Nations for educational use.
- United States Census Bureau American FactFinder
Data from the many censuses conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- United States Department of State
- USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal
- Websites of U.S. Embassies, Consulates, and Diplomatic Missions
Published by the U.S. Department of State.
- White House
- World Bank
A source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Not a bank in the common sense, it is made up of two unique development institutions owned by 187 member countries—the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA).
- World Factbook
Published by the CIA. Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- World Health Organization
The directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
- XE.com: Universal Currency Converter
- You Think: Global Issues for Teens to Think About
Information about the global issues that matter to teens, gathered by World Bank experts on international development.