- The Adirondack Review - Featured Poets
An independent online quarterly magazine of literature and the arts dedicated to publishing poetry, fiction, artwork, and photography, as well as interviews, articles, book reviews, and translations.
- American Verse Project
University of Michigan project to assemble an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.
- Bartleby Verse
One of the largest collections of free verse on the web. Copyright-expired volumes of classic poetry from around the world, including American verse.
- Bob's Byway - A Poetic Diversion
The "Glossary of Poetic Terms" page offers a glossary of over 1,000 poetic terms, with definitions, phonetic pronunciations, cross references, historical references, and keyword links. The "Examples of Poetic Terms" page shows excellent examples of all of these terms from hundreds of poems.
- Contemporary American Poetry Archive
An electronic archive designed to make out-of-print volumes of poetry available to readers, scholars, and researchers. Sponsored by Connecticut College.
- Electronic Poetry Center
Sponsored by the University at Buffalo and the University of Pennsylvania, this site makes available a wide range of resources centered on digital and contemporary formally innovative poetries, new media writing, and literary programming.
- Elements of Poetry
Defines and gives examples of fourteen elements of poetry, along with exercises on and explanatory references for each term.
- The Favorite Poem Project
Dedicated to celebrating, documenting and encouraging poetry’s role in Americans’ lives.
- Fooling With Words with Bill Moyers
Materials from a 1999 PBS program that "captures the vitality and diversity of contemporary" American poetry. Includes video clips of poets reading their poetry, lesson plans, a teacher's guide, and related web links.
- A Handbook of Rhetorical Devices
Contains definitions and examples of more than sixty traditional rhetorical devices, and a self test.
- Library of Congress - Poem a Day for High School
- Poems That Go
Explores "electronic literature" - the intersections between motion, sound, image, text, and code. Explores how language is shaped in new media spaces, how interactivity can change the meaning of a sign, how an image can conflict with a sound, and how code exerts machine-order on a text.
The history, meaning, and types of poetry, terms often used when reading and studying poetry, links to various poetry sites for daily poetry, poetry organizations, poet biographies, and a selection of poetry from various famous poets.
- Poetry Archive
A large collection of late 19th-century to Contemporary English-language poets reading their own work.
- Poetry Foundation
Find poems, audio and podcasts, videos, issues of Poetry magazine, and reading guides.
- Poetry Society of America
The "PSA Resources" section has over 200 links to poetry-related sites.
Lots of ideas and suggestions for teachers of poetry.
The website of the Academy of American Poets. Thousands of poems as well as hundreds of poet biographies, essays, interviews, poetry recordings. Includes resources such as the National Poetry Map, a national events calendar, and poetry lesson plans for teachers.
- Poet's Corner
A collection of potry covers over 7,000 works by about 800 poets - including some of the best known works in the English language - and many obscure and forgotten works that are well worth reading.