- California Digital Newspaper Collection
A freely accessible repository of digitized California newspapers from 1846 to the present.
An open wiki project dedicated to creating a free, comprehensive, and reliable repository of structured knowledge. Contributors, or "citizens", work under their own real names, and all are expected to behave professionally and responsibly.
- Colonial North American Project at Harvard University
Digitized images of archival and manuscript materials in the Harvard Library that relate to 17th and 18th century North America. Scattered through twelve repositories, these documents reveal a great deal about topics such as social life, education, trade, finance, politics, revolution, war, women, Native American life, slavery, science, medicine, and religion.
- Digital Library on American Slavery
This searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color offers data on race and slavery extracted from eighteenth and nineteenth-century documents. These include legislative petitions, county court petitions, wills, inventories, deeds, bills of sale, depositions, court proceedings, and amended petitions.
- Digital Public Library of America
A single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic; save items to customized lists; and share their lists with others. Users can also explore digital exhibitions curated by the DPLA’s content partners and staff.
- Google News Archive
Historical archive of small newspapers from around the country.
- Internet Public Library
The Internet Public Library is a public library for the world wide web. Students from a consortium of colleges and universities with programs in information science develop and maintain the IPL.
- Library of Congress - Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Maryland Online Historical Newspapers Summary
Links to various online historical Maryland newspaper collections.
- National Sciences Digital Library
An online portal for education and research on learning in
Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics. Funded by the National Science Foundation.
- New York Public Library Public Domain Primary Source Materials
- Perseus Digital Library
An evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world, including archaeology, atlases, texts and translations, text tools and lexica.
- Portal to Texas History
Historical newspaper archives from Texas.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related technologies today.
- World Digital Library
The World Digital Library makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.